Is It Possible for the Teens to Get Charged as Adults in The United States?
United States

Often people think about whether teens can get tried, charged, and convicted as adults in the United States. And the answer to this is a resounding yes. In a case, a 16-year-old boy was charged guilty of raping his therapist back in July 2021. As per the news portals, even though the boy is a minor, he will be considered an adult for facing the charges of assault and aggravated sexual assault.

As per the law followed in the United States, these are crimes. And any teenager who commits these crimes will face severe punishment and also get transferred to the juvenile court system. To know more about this, you can get in touch with a criminal defense lawyer in Oberheiden, P.C. of Miami.

The crime

However, the crime of assaulting the peace office gets considered a third-degree felony in most parts of the United States. And here, the punishments can range from a person getting sentences for about two years or even a decade. There can also be a fine of $10,000. In most states in the U.S, aggravated sexual assault gets considered a 1st-degree felony. And the accused might have to serve almost five years of jail time. But a minor who is in an adult criminal court system might not witness any extreme life punishment in jail if there is no parole or a death penalty when the punishments can apply to the adult.

Tennessee public records will give you an inside look into a Tennessee resident’s criminal past. They will give you the name, date, and location of arrests, the type of charge, the charges were later dropped, or what happened after being arrested.

The adult or the juvenile court

Many people think about the difference between the adult and the juvenile court and why a few juvenile violent crimes get managed in the adult court system. Here it is essential for you to realize that kids under ten can’t get prosecuted as they are very young for having any criminal intent. However, the youth between 10 and 17 years might face felony and misdemeanor charges.

Here you need to think of the essential question – Will the case get managed at the adult or the juvenile court? Here any teen who is of 17 years will get sent to an adult court system for any felony or misdemeanor charges. However, when it comes to minors between the age of 10 and 16 years, they usually get considered a juvenile. In such a situation, the juvenile court addresses this issue. Hence, the outcome will get directed to rehabilitation instead of acute punishment, with the offenders who get sent to the juvenile detention facility, which could either be a local facility or a facility operated by the Juvenile Justice Department of the particular state in the U.S.

Sometimes, a minor or youth might not be at fault and still get accused of a crime. Here, you need to get in touch with an expert criminal defense lawyer who can address the situation and smoothen out the issues at hand with this expertise. They can also secure the rights of innocent youth.

Recent Posts