West Bengal Establishes a National Education Policy Committee

Officials announced on Friday that the West Bengal government had formed a 10-member committee to evaluate the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020 and determine the necessity for a state-level education policy. According to them, the committee will assess efforts made by states such as Maharashtra and Kerala in the education sector after the Centre presents NEP 2020.

“In this context, the committee would also examine the recent UGC guidelines,” an official said.

Columbia University professor Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, Jadavpur University vice-chancellor Suranjan Das, NIT Durgapur director Anupam Basu, and Harvard University professor Sugata Bose are among the committee’s members, he claimed.

Recent Posts